

Amy Hernandez
Phone: (573)480-9973
www.communityfoundationofthelake.org

November 22, 2019

Community Foundation of the Lake Announces \$31,000 in Grant Awards for Local Horse & Dog Shelters, Sanctuaries, and Rescue Facilities.

The CFL is pleased to announce the first grants have been awarded in a new annual grant round earmarked for funding of horse and dog shelters, sanctuaries, and rescue facilities. This new grant is available thanks to a field of interest fund created by the Karen Jean Rudek Trust. Karen Rudek was a long-time resident of the area who loved her dogs and horses. She bequeathed her estate to set up a foundation to support horse and dog care in the local communities of Camden, Miller and Morgan counties. She entrusted stewardship of the fund to the CFL to ensure her long term wishes of animal care were met in perpetuity. The first recipients of this generous award of the inaugural grant round are:

- Ozark Kat and K9
- Dogwood Animal Shelter
- Ivy Bend Animal Rescue
- Forget Me Not Horse Rescue
- Blue Moon Animal Sanctuary

The next grant making round will open next fall and can be found on the CFL website.

Photo captions:

- 1. Blue Moon L to R: Blue Moon Board Members Judy Laber, Mary Ann Golden, Lynda Tober
- 2. MFMN L to R: CFL Grant Chair Jane Wright, CFL Board Member Debra Howard, MFMN Horse Rescue Board Members Virginia Rice & Carol Killebrew, MFMN President Connie Hendrix, MFMN Vice President Donna Ogle, and CFL Treasurer Michelle Zollmann
- 3. Kat & K9 L to R: CFL Board Member Debra Howard, Kat & K9 Treasurer Cindy Eaton, President Harold Van De Haar, Board Member Margaret Tadlock, Secretary Debbie Cook, & Board Member Joan Willcott, CFL Treasurer Michelle Zollmann
- 4. Dogwood L to R: CFL Advisory Council Carolyn Davinroy, CFL Grant Chair Jane Wright, & CFL Board Member Debra Howard, Dogwood Manager Ellen Keen, Board Members Deb Reefer & Bob Bender, Director Donna Morris, CFL Treasurer Michelle Zollmann
- 5. Ivy Bend L to R: CFL Grant Chair Jane Wright, Ivy Bend Board Member Heather Shrout, President J.R. Bibey, Treasurer Connie Bibey, CFL Treasurer

Michelle Zollmann, CFL Board Member Debra Howard, CFL Advisory Council Carolyn Davinroy